Escape from New York

My first idea for this blog was to write exclusively about films available on Hulu from the Criterion Collection. For one thing, I’m already a Hulu subscriber. For another, I hoped it would make it easier for me to choose what to watch next (so many films, so little time). And finally, perhaps most importantly, I thought it would provide some assurance that, regardless of which film I picked or whether I liked it or not, I would probably be able to find something to say about it. After all, the Criterion Collection doesn’t have a lot of crap in it. So I watched and wrote about Tokyo Story. But Tokyo Story reminded me of Lost in Translation, and Lost in Translation, unfortunately, isn’t in the Criterion Collection, at least not yet anyway.   I went with it anyway and never looked back.   In honor of that initial impulse though, I am going to borrow a trope from the Criterion Collection website to apply to my current review. They do this thing where they play clips from the movie and list “three reasons.” My current movie choice is Escape from New York, and these are my three reasons:
 
1. It stars Kurt Russell, Lee Van Cleef, Ernest Borgnine, Harry Dean Stanton, Isaac Hayes, Donald Pleasence, and Adrien Barbeau. Not only does this cast run the gamut from the Academy Awards to Woodstock, these folks have been in some of the coolest movies ever made: The Good, the Bad, and The Ugly; Alien; The Thing; The Wild Bunch; The Dirty Dozen; Halloween; THX 1138; The Fog; and Scooby Doo on Zombie Island.  Yeah, Scooby Doo on Zombie Island.  Who knew?  Okay, so I was reaching a bit with Barbeau.

2. That has to be the coolest pimp mobile ever caught on film.

3. Hey, it’s John Carpenter.  The Thing, They Live, Halloween.  ‘Nuff said.  

Those are my three reasons.  What are yours?

One thought on “Escape from New York

Leave a Reply

