Argo

Stanley Fish said of the film Argo, “This is one of those movies that depend on your not thinking much about it; for as soon as you reflect on what’s happening rather than being swept up in the narrative flow, there doesn’t seem much to it aside from the skill with which suspense is maintained despite the fact that you know in advance how it’s going to turn out. … Once the deed is successfully done, there’s really nothing much to say. . . .  That is the virtue of an entertainment like this; it doesn’t linger in the memory and provoke afterthoughts.” While I’m not sure I would call it a “virtue,” the description certainly is apt.  There isn’t much to say about Argo.  Or at least I have struggled to find much to say about it.  Nevertheless, I did enjoy it.  I marveled at the fact there is a true story that forms the basis of the film and at the thought there are people in the world with the kind of stones it takes to pull something like this off.  I enjoyed the performances and the humor, particularly from Goodman and Arkin.  And I gripped the edge of my seat, pretty much the whole way through, despite the fact that I already knew the ending.  Kudos, too, I think are in order for Affleck, who not only knocks it out of the park so far as his directorial duties are concerned, but who doesn’t pull any punches when describing the shameful machinations that have contributed to the sort of anti-American sentiment depicted in the film.

IMDB

Leave a Reply

