Christmas in Connecticut

“Suppose you listen to me for a change?… I said listen to me! I’m tired of being pushed around. Tired of being told what to do. Tired of writing your god-darned articles. Tired of dancing to everybody else’s tune. Tired of being told whom to marry. In short… I’m tired!”  –Elizabeth Lane 

Trailer

can’t quite decide whether to add Christmas in Connecticut to my list of Chicken Soup for

the Soul movies or to start a new list of “warm fuzzies” for the ones that come ever so close.  On the one hand, I really enjoyed it and laughed and smiled a great deal (i.e., it gave me a warm fuzzy). Barbara Stanwyck is superb, as always, and the supporting cast is basically a who’s who of character actors, including S. Z. Sakall, Sydney Greenstreet and Una O’Connor. While these actors may not exactly be household names, their filmographies include Casablanca, The Malteese Falcon, The Invisible Man, Bride of Frankenstein, The Adventures of Robin Hood, The Sea Hawk,and The Canterville Ghost. What’s more, the film has the kind of verbal repartee that makes screwball comedies so enjoyable without the slapstick that can make them so tedious:

Elizabeth Lane: Don’t you come near me, you seawolf, after the way you deceived me…
Jefferson Jones: I deceived you?
Elizabeth Lane: Yes! You’re engaged!
Jefferson Jones: You’re married!
Elizabeth Lane: That has nothing to do with it!

  
I would definitely recommend it once, especially for fans of Stanwyck, fans of screwball comedies, or just someone looking for a charming Christmas movie that’s a bit more off the beaten path than your usual Christmas fare. 

Leave a Reply

