Alien

Movies, as much or more than any other art form, are social, and one of the best parts of being a movie buff is getting to share a favorite movie. I was twelve years old in 1979 when I saw Alien for the first time, and tonight I watched it again with my family, including my twelve- and 15-year-old sons, and it did not disappoint.

ne1c0yrmlgmm45_2_b

What it’s about:  Tight spaces. Monsters. Monsters in tight spaces. And also I think maybe some sort of weird primordial fears about reproduction.

What we liked about it:

  1. The jump scares. That first really big jump scare got my youngest one I think almost as much as my response to the first really big jump scare. It turned into a chain reaction that will probably go down in family lore, and my oldest one of course ate up the fact that it got his old man way more than it got him.
  2. The set design and special effects. The kids asked me shortly into it, “what year did this movie come out?” They couldn’t believe a horror movie from the seventies could hold up this well.  The Nostromo, with it’s lived in look, and the Geiger inspired aliens definitely raised the bar.

What I didn’t like about it:

  1. Don’t get me wrong, at 29 or 30 years old, Sigourney Weaver looked absolutely gorgeous in that little top and panties. I’m sure she still does. But it kinda comes out of the blue and feels tacked on and out of place in the movie.  Maybe they felt the need to stress her femininity and vulnerability following her stint of badassery, but it felt unnecessary and out of place to me.

On the whole, a ton of fun. Highly recommended.

 

Leave a Reply

